A Division of the South African Institute of Physics

Past Awards

Awards: Awarded to or awarded by members

Congratulations to the following people:

SAIP 2016:

  • PhD Poster:   Ibrahim Usman (Wits)
  • PhD Oral:   Mitchell Cox (Wits)
  • MSc Poster:  Ross Dix-Peek (NMMU)
  • MSc Oral:  Lucas Erasmus (UFS)
  • Hons Poster: Kreason Naidoo and Nonky Ramohoeba (UKZN)
  • NMISA Metrology Presentation sponsored by NMISA: Gareth Berry (Wits)

SAIP 2015:

  • PhD Poster: Opeyemi Odutemowo (UP)  
  • PhD Oral:   Maxwell Vhareta (Wits)
  • MSc Poster:  Lucas Erasmus (UFS)
  • MSc Oral:  Graham Webber (UJ)
  • Hons Poster: Ross Dix-Peek (NMMU)

SAIP 2014:

  • PhD Poster:   Nicholas Kwarikunda (NMMU)
  • PhD Oral:   Sherry Bremner (UCT)
  • MSc Poster:  Solomon Uriri (RU)
  • MSc Oral:  Shukree Wassin (NMMU)

SAIP 2013:

  • PhD Oral:   Emily Aradi (Wits)
  • PhD Oral:   Yaseera Ismail (UKZN)
  • PhD Poster:  Ross Schultz (NMMU)
  • MSc Oral:  Olakunle Oluwaleye (UJ)

SAIP 2012: 

PhD Oral: Ross Schultz (NMMU)

PhD Poster: Raymond Taziwa (UFH)

MSc Oral: Sipho Dlamini (UFS)

MSc Poster: Abdulghaaliq Adams (UWC)


 SAIP 2011:

  • PhD Poster: Jacob Radebe (NECSA)
  • MSc Oral: Jacques Gerber (NMMU)
  • MSc Poster:  No award

SAIP 2010:

  • PhD Oral:  Ronald Machaka (Wits)
  • MSc Oral: Lourens van Schalkwyk (UP) and Jacqui Crozier (NMMU)
  • MSc/PhD Poster:  Oreabetsoe Mosikare (CSIR)

 SAIP 2009:

  • PhD Oral:  Nicolas Thantsha (NMMU) and Stanley Walton (UCT)
  • PhD Poster: B Magunje (UCT)
  • MSc Oral: Wally Solana (UCT)
  • MSc Poster:  E Zhou (UWC)
  • Hons Presentation: Lourens van Schalkwyk (University of Pretoria)    

SAIP 2008:

  • PhD Presentation: Chantelle Radue (NMMU)
  • MSc Presentation: Bessie Makgopa (NECSA) and Angus Morrison (UCT)   

SAIP 2007:

  • PhD Oral:  Kobie Smit (University Pretoria)
  • PhD Poster: Mark Gordon (UFH, FHIT)
  • MSc Oral: Mabuti Radebe (UWC / NECSA)
  • MSc Poster:  Loyiso Maweza (UFH, FHIT)
  • Honourable Mention: Dr Phil Ferrer (Wits)

SAIP 2006:

  • PhD Oral:  M Simon (UFH)
  • PhD Poster: Not awarded
  • MSc Oral: C Freeman (UKZN)
  • MSc Poster: PA Brink (NMMU) and NB Mbatha (UWC)
  • Honourable Mention: R Grant (Rhodes)

SAIP 2005:

  • PhD Oral: R.M. Erasmus (WITS)
  • PhD Poster: G. Makaka (University of Fort Hare)
  • MSc Oral: R.C. Botha (Stellenbosch University)
  • MSc Poster: K.P. Maphoto (University of the Free State)